Led Moon

Was sitting in a parking lot, running stationary RADAR towards a highway and listening to the radio when two of my all time favorite songs came on the radio…

“Stairway to Heaven” followed by “Babe, I’m Gonna Leave You”, both by Led Zeppelin.

As I was listening to the joyous tones of Robert Plant singing and the slow melodic rhythms of Page’s guitar, I saw the moon in the clouds just above the horizon. It was partly obscured by low-level clouds, but I still saw it had a slight red haze to it. Not even the shriek of the RADAR as a speeder past my patrol car (76 in a 70) jerked me from the sights and sounds; I was lost in the steady beat of Bonham’s drums and the moon in the clouds.

Suddenly it hit me, they don’t make music like they used to. I don’t know what it is, but most of the new music out there doesn’t have that feel that older music does. I’m not sure if that feeling gets lost through computer production, but it’s not there.

Now excuse me while I crank up the turn table and put on my L.A. Woman album…

One Response to “Led Moon”

  1. Music isn’t made for the sake of making music… it’s produced for making money. Auto-Tune (abuse) is evil, and rampant.

    But yeah, nothing like Led Zeppelin.

Leave a Reply

