*sigh*

All the articles I’ve typed over the last couple of weeks or so haven’t been posted. I tried, unsuccessfully, apparently, to set it up so all my posts would appear at a set date and time. Problem is, don’t ask me how, all the dates were being set for their proper date and time…in 2012.

Which means, expect a slew of posts over the next week. I’ve got 8 blags to be posted, which I’ll be doing manually from now on to avoid this problem again.

In the mean time, I leave you with a very simple question:

If all handgun rounds suck, does that mean semi-automatic SMGs suck as well? Or does the added length of the barrel add enough velocity to make them viable as a primary self defense weapon?

4 Responses to “*sigh*”

  1. Suck compared to… what?

    Compared to a good M4gery? Arguable yes. Compared to nothing or at best a big stick or a rock? I’ll take the SMG.

    In the end, it’s still a pistol caliber. But, it’s better than nothing. I’ve honestly been considering one for the Mrs since it’s going to be far more managable recoil, rather lightweight (e.g. KelTec SUB-2000 is 4#), and geez if those things ain’t fun to shoot. Being fun to shoot? you’ll shoot it more, you’ll get more familiar, more practice… how can that be a bad thing?

    Not my first choice, but everything has trade-offs, IMHO.

  2. You don’t gain that much velocity in a longer barrel, because the powder type and powder charge in pistol ammo is optimized for pistol length barrels. .357 SIG would probably be the best pistol caliber carbine round (because its velocity is already 1400+ fps), but I don’t think anyone makes a pistol caliber carbine in that caliber.

  3. Greetings from Falls County,
    I can’t aggree that all handguns suck. Some are a lot better than others. Lord knows, in the right hands they do the job.

    As for SMGs, I think its about the deliverly system. It counts for nothing if you don’t know how to use a SMG. Rounds in the air or bouncing all around the target gets you nothing. The guy may need a wardrobe change but it doesn’t matter how bad his pants stink when he’s standing over your dead body.

    The whole point of an SMG is it’s big enough to hang on to and steady for a solid shot. It also gives you enough capasity to make use of a weapon capable of automatic fire. Shooting from the hip and blazing out an entire magazine is foolish.

    Watch someone who takes aimed shots from the shoulder and fires in three to five round burst, and you will understand why an SMG can be so deadly in the right hands.

    The fact that blasting targets with an SMG is so much fun is a bonus!

  4. Greetings from Falls County,
    OK, head up and locked. Now that I read the “Semi-auto” part forget what I said about thee to five round burst. But you know what, everything else still stands.

    I LOVE my Simi Thompson. As for the long barrel, I am actually wanting to do the SBR conversion on it. A agree that the few extra inches don’t make that much difference on range or accratecy (Can’t spell – remember) if any, but they make the Thompson look stupid.

Leave a Reply

