19 + CCW

This was posted in the comments, but I’m going to reply to it as a full post.

I read in Texas you can legally have a handgun in your house (at least 18 years of age) and the vehicle is an extension of your dwelling, and you can have a weapon in your vehicle, as long as its out of sight. Not concealed on your person mind you, but in the glovebox or in the middle compartment, and you notify the officer when he pulls you over. I’m 19 and I don’t want to go to jail for having a gun in my car. Please let me know if I’m mistakin. OFFICER ONLY I don’t want biased opinions.

This was posted by Sean as a comment to my Traffic Stop Etiquette article.

First, I can understand your reasoning for “officer only”, however, I would ask you to make an exception for “KR”. He is a highly experienced firearms trainer and knows much about the firearm laws and laws regarding carrying a concealed weapon.

Anywho, I’ll need to take some time to research it. I know the jist of it, but I want to make sure I actually know it, plus it’ll allow me a chance to post reference material.

Advertisements

One Response to “19 + CCW”

  1. You have to be 21 to purchase a handgun from a dealer. In Texas you can own a handgun if you are 18-21 if you purchase it from an individual or receive it as a gift.

    Useful thread http://www.texasguntalk.com/forums/general-firearms-ammo-sponsored-eastex-guns/17735-handgun-possession-18-years-old-older.html

    HB 1815 excludes from unlawful carrying of a weapon a person who is carrying a handgun, illegal knife, or club on the person’s own premises or premises under their control or inside of or directly en route to a motor vehicle that is owned by the person or is under their control. The bill makes it an offense to carry a handgun in a motor vehicle that is owned by the person or under the person’s control if the handgun is in plain view or the person is engaged in certain criminal activity, is prohibited from possessing a firearm, or is a member of a criminal street gang.

    So you can carry a legally owned handgun in your car (but only in a car that belongs to you or that you are driving).

    Because you won’t have a carry permit you actually have no legal requirement to disclose that you have a gun in your car when stopped. The risk in disclosing that fact up front is that an anti-gun cop could probably hassle you for being under 21 and having a handgun, because unfortunately cops are not always expert on that particular nuance of Texas law. However, if you asked by a cop if you are armed, definitely tell the truth. Being polite and complying with whatever the officer requests is always the best course of action during a traffic stop, even when the officer is out of line (watch the infamous Dayton PD CHL traffic stop video if you haven’t seen it yet).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: