Location, location

Got woken up at 4:45 a.m. to deal with something.

I’m not upset because I had to go deal with something, that’s further than the truth. I knew when I took my oath to protect and serve the citizens and visitors of my county that it meant doing all sorts of things, whether I like them or not, at all hours of the day and/or night.

No, what I’m upset about, is receiving less than helpful location information. Dead dog in the road? No problem. Don’t mind getting out of bed at 4:45 a.m. to go remove it from the road. I do mind it when the best location information I’m given is “about 2 to 3 miles” outside of town, especially when it turned out to be 5 miles outside of town.

When you drive, look for things to help locate you, especially if your talking on a cellphone. If it’s a gas station, a county road sign, a mile marker, a store, anything to help narrow it down.

Telling the dispatcher that your 2-3 miles on the west side of town near the Chevron is perfect, cause even if the guess of 2-3 miles is off, chances are good the police are going to know where the Chevron your talking about is at.

Remember, keep your head on a swivel!

Leave a Reply

