Grub!

A quick request, if you don’t mind.

Rather than spend all my ammo/gun money on eating out all the time, plus being single, I have to rely on myself to cook. So far, it’s mostly been top ramen, boxed mac and cheese, and homemade burgers, with the occasional bowl of cereal and sandwich. Obviously this isn’t a healthy way to eat, and I’m sure there are tastier ways of stretching my food dollar.

So, I’m looking for recipes to cook for myself. Whether it feeds 2 or 6 I don’t care, as I can just save it and have leftovers. Simple is better as I don’t have much by way of cookware, and I’m not really much of a cook. I have the basic herbs and spices, so no worries there. Just know I don’t have a grill.

Feel free to either leave a comment or email me at my address: jay.txgunner@gmail.com.

Thanks!

4 Responses to “Grub!”

  1. This is simultaneously the classiest and easiest thing I regularly make. Unfortunately it’s not quick, but you can make it on a weekend and reheat during the week in very little time.

    Chicken Confit

    Buy whole chicken legs (with thighs attached) the fresher the better.
    On Saturday morning sprinkle them liberally with salt & pepper and put them back in the fridge.
    On Sunday take them out of the fridge. brush off the extra salt & pepper.
    Put them in a oven safe (preferably ceramic or clay) container and cover them with Olive oil so they’re completely submerged (note you can use cheaper oil or even pork fat for this if you like but Olive oil will be better for you) Throw a few peeled but otherwise whole garlic cloves, a pinch of thyme and a bay leaf in with them.
    Put them into a 300F oven and cook for 2-3 hours until they’re easily pierced with a fork (they should practically be falling off the bone).

    To reheat: If cold and covered in oil (below) scrape off excess oil / fat and put them in a pan over medium heat until they’re warmed thru and the skin is crispy and browned.

    To store: Covered in the fridge for a couple days or pour the oil/fat over them and they’ll keep for a month or two as long as they’re completely covered with cold oil.

    Protip: in a French restaraunt you’d pay a lot of money for this and chicks dig it.

  2. Get a slow cooker, just toss in whatever and let it do its thing for a few hours.

  3. One Pot Shepherd Pie

    Brown hamburger meat liberally doused with Worcestershire Sauce.
    Drain and add veggies (green beans, corn, peas, whatever you like)

    Add one can of cream of mushroom soup and one can of water.
    Stir and bring to a boil.

    Add butter/margarine.
    Add potato flakes and stir until thickened.

    3 Pepper Beef Tips and Noodles.

    Tenderize and slice up 1 pack of beef stew meat into thin strips.
    Heat pan with vegetable oil until hot — add stew meat and sear.

    Add Soy Sauce or Worcestershire Sauce, black pepper, cayenne pepper, lemon pepper, red pepper, etc to taste.

    Add water to ‘braise’ stew meat (that is cook until greyish/brown with boiling waiter).

    Add 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and one can of water.
    Stir and cook until soup thickens.

    In separate pot, boil water and prepare wide egg noodles (works well over mashed potatoes or rice also).

    Drain Noodles and serve with pepper beef over noodles.

    Just two of my ’30 minute’ meals. I’ll try to think of a few more.

  4. […] I tried Dave’s Chicken Confit recipe last night, and wow, it was delicious. I started marinating it Friday morning, loaded it in the […]

Leave a Reply

