Growing pains

I finished my psych eval today and got the psychologist’s signature.

I completed my medical physical, and as long as my TB skin test and drug test comes back negative, I’ll get the doctor’s signature.

So, having completed everything I have, I’m only waiting on my medical tests, and to sign on the dotted line so to speak. In the mean time, I’ve been looking at apartments in the area of where I’ll be working. My parents have agree to pay to get me set up, and pay my first months rent.

However, this has run into it’s own issues. I’ve got a lot of stuff to buy, and no telling when I’ll get my first paycheck.

See, the Sheriff has said he would strongly prefer his deputies’ duty pistols to be chambered in .45 ACP. I don’t own anything in .45 ACP. I also don’t own a back up gun. This means I’ve got to buy a new pistol, back up gun, and possibly a new duty holster at $100-$150. In the mean time, my cell bill is due on the 12th of every month and rent is due on the 1st of every month, then there is the electric bill, cable bill, internet, etc.

To make matters worse, I have no idea when I’ll get my first paycheck. I’m not sure if the county pays bimonthly or monthly.

If it’s bimonthly, I’ll get my first check on March 1st. I’ll be able to get my bills paid and eat on top ramen until the 15th, then I’ll be able to buy my duty pistol and start saving my pennies for the back up gun.

If it’s monthly, I won’t get it until April 1st, which means I’ll have to find a way to come up with the money to cover that month.

Time to figure up a budget and start getting things figured out. If my childhood wasn’t over yet, it certainly is now!

2 Responses to “Growing pains”

  1. Greetings from Falls County,
    This sort of thing isn’t uncommon. It isn’t out of line to inquire about your pay schedule. How else are you suppose to plan?

    On the weapon question, can you use the weapon you had intended as a duty weapon for the back-up. Should the backup be .45 ACP as well? A lot of gunstores will allow full or partial trades if you can’t use what you have now.

    As for living quarters, I always hated having a room-mate, but short term until you can get your own place might be an option.

    Something to think about anyway.

  2. Jay,

    I don’t know how you look at a budget but most people think of it as a limit on what they can do.

    I prefer to think of a budget as a spending plan. Yes, how much you plan to spend.

    If you focus on that, I think it helps determine priorities. What comes first: Duty Gun or Cable?

    Not that you can’t spend on both, but when will you have the money to spend on both.

    A suggestion for the weapons, ask the sheriff if he knows of any deputies wanting to sell a gun or two. I’d bet that many started off with basic models and then later upgraded.

Leave a Reply

