Workin’ out

Ever since I decided to start exercising, I’ve been following a running program called Couch-To-5k. The problem I’ve run into with Couch-To-5k is I’m not a long distance runner. I’m insanely quick over short distances, but I can’t run for distance. I start to peter out at a little over a mile. I hit the point where I simply can’t do the exercise. Even repeating previous days, I still just hit that wall.

However, it has been beneficial for me. With Couch-to-5k and my walks, I’ve lost roughly 10 lbs in about 4 weeks. And to be frank, I certainly feel a lot better.

So, rather than keep pounding around a track with little gain, I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews, and ended purchasing P90X for cheap. I went today and bought a cheap resistance band set to get me started. If I love it, I’ll buy a dumbbell set and pull up/chin up bar further on down the road.

Why P90X?

  • I have a lot of weight to lose. I’m 5′ 9″ and weight roughly 221 lbs.
  • I need to gain muscle mass. Simply put, I need more muscle, especially if I’m going to be fighting drunks and drug addicts.
  • It can be never ending. Yes, it is techinically a 90 day program. However, when you get done, you can start back with week 1, day 1. You just simply use heavier weights.
  • You don’t need a lot of fancy workout equipment. A set of $20 resistance bands will allow me to do all the exercises just as good as a weight set and chin up bar. Eventually yes, I would like to get a weight set and chim up bar because it’s the best way to do the exercises, but the $20 resistance bands will work just fine.
  • For most of the exercises, you can go at your own pace. You don’t have to keep up with the instructors to get the most out of the exercises.

I’m off to take before pictures, then do Week 1, Day 1. I probably will post them later tonight (edited of course) to give you an idea what I look like now.

One Response to “Workin’ out”

  1. […] in the country. Jay was also kind enough to help me in all of this, especially given his condition. He just started P90X and was pretty sore… so what better than to slam some high-recoil shotgun loads into your […]

Leave a Reply

