advice

Another “Jay is young and looking for advice post.”

I have applied to 7 departments, and fixing to apply to number 8. 8 is my hometown. They have an officer leaving, and I am going to apply for his position when it opens.

The salary ranges of the positions I have applied for vary from $35,000 to $48,000.

The duties vary as well, from patrol deputy in a large populated county, to deputy in a very rural county, to court bailiff, to deputy constable serving papers.

So the question is, do I take the first position that I get offered? Do I be picky and wait for an easier position that pays better?

What do you think I should do?

6 Responses to “advice”

  1. Greetings from Falls County,
    Whoo! Well, here goes.

    To begin, there is no such thing as an easy law enforcement gig, so go for the money if it’s an option.

    Hometown, give me strength!
    Speaking for my self, the only way I would take a position on my hometown police force, especially freash out of school, was if I was ready to bust lots of chops. The saying goes, your never great in your own country. Be ready to convince friends and enemies alike you aren’t the kid they grew up with. It ain’t gona be easy.

    Deputy Constable serving papers would be my last choice.

    Court Bailiff dpesn’t sound too bad, but I could be wrong.

    I tend to enjoy rural areas and can strike up a conversation with a fence post. Once you know the area and get a feel for the people this could be a good duty. That’s me.

    Make of it what you will.

    • I didn’t mean any would be easy, but some would be easier than others. Courtroom bailiff would be easier than workin a beat fightin’ drunks.

      Ironically, the lowest paid positions were the deputy sheriff positions and the highest paid were the deputy constable positions.

  2. I can’t speak to the life of a law enforcement officer, but I can say this:

    You should only apply for a gig that you’d want.

    If that gig got offered and you didn’t really want it, why apply for it in the first place?

    Also, learn how long you have until you NEED to reply after an offer has been given. I mean, if you get 2 weeks to consider it, that means you don’t HAVE to reply until day 14. That could give you ability to see what else comes in in that time.

    But to take or not? You are the only one that can decide that. You’ll just have to wait and see what you get, not just who says yes, but also what the full package is: compensation, the specifics of the gig, etc..

    • That’s the thing, I only applied to the positions I wanted and would be happy with where I would be at. If the salaries and duties were about the same, then it’d be easy. But the salaries and duties are all so different, which is why I asked should I hold out for an easier position with better pay or take the first one that comes along.

      • Ah I see. It’s a tough question for us to answer. Best I can say is to see what comes in. Who knows… you might get rejected from all of them and then there’s nothing to worry about. ;-)

        Seriously, likely it will turn out to be one of those things where it’ll all become evident when the time comes.

      • I know a fellow former cadet has applied to anything and everything he can. Location, department history, etc doesn’t matter to him. He told me that about 3/4ths of the departments he has applied to he really doesn’t want to work for, but “a job’s a job” in his words.

        Last time I talked to him, he had a total of 16 applications pending with 14 departments.

Leave a Reply

