Hope and Change…

…I can believe in!

Thursday night, for some reason, I decided I wanted to change the way my life is going. It’s time for me to move on. This change will encompass many things.

First, I’m starting to apply to other departments. As much as I love the guys at my Sheriff’s Office, being on call sucks, the pay sucks, lack of a schedule sucks, and not being able to carry off duty sucks. I don’t want to wait for them to offer me a full time position, if it ever comes. I’m in an ambitious mood right now, so I’m in the process of filling out applications for 7 different departments. 3 sheriff’s offices, 3 constable’s offices, and a local PD.

Second, to go along with the first, I’ve started exercising. I started this afternoon. I’m hitting the Couch-to-5k program again, though this time I’m using this free running app called SportyPal. It measures a whole host of stuff, like time of the exercise, length mileage wise of the exercise, approximate calories you’ve burned, etc. I’m also doing the standard push ups and sit ups, with a little added flavor of stuff I learned from PT in the Academy. I need to be fit enough to easily pass any PT test no matter what department I test for. I shouldn’t have to worry about doing a PT test by doing a mini-test on my own to make sure I can pass it so I don’t show up and look like an idiot. Plus, I’m simply tired of being overweight.

Third, to go along with the second, I’m watching what I’m eating. I’m back to one soda a day, healthy choices, and less snacking because I’m bored. More importantly, this time around, I’m also going to start watching my portion control. This was a big time thing I learned about my body during the Academy. I tend to eat healthy, but I eat a lot, way more than I should.

Fourth, I’m going to start blogging more often. I don’t blog near enough, and I’m hoping by starting to exercise again, I can use the blog as a means of keeping track of my progress and maybe motivating you out there to start exercising as well, plus I’ve got a few interesting tidbits from my academy stuff I can post, that many may or may not find interesting.

Fifth, well, there is no fifth. I just like stopping on 5 items for some reason.

So sit back, relax, and enjoy the ride.

4 Responses to “Hope and Change…”

  1. Greetings from Falls County,
    One day at a time my friend. If I may suggest, you might want to consider what message leaving so soon after getting the job you have sends. Enough of me poking into your business.

    The self improvment program is never out of place. I like the part about blogging more. I’m trying to do the same.

    • Hey, feel free to poke, it’s why I post.

      My Sheriff knew I would be applying elsewhere, I told him that upfront right before they hired me. That’s why I’m a Reserve Deputy, not a regular Deputy. Plus, when I do get hired on somewhere, I can keep my Reserve status by working the required number of hours. I would be an unpaid Reserve, but it would still be handy to have in the future.

  2. Good for you, on all accounts!

  3. […] Ever since I decided to start exercising, I’ve been following a running program called Couch-To-5k. The problem I’ve run into with Couch-To-5k is I’m not a long distance runner. I’m insanely quick over short distances, but I can’t run for distance. I start to peter out at a little over a mile. I hit the point where I simply can’t do the exercise. Even repeating previous days, I still just hit that wall. […]

Leave a Reply

