Redman Scenarios

I got my PPCT certification week before last. After that, the PPCT instructors set us up with a couple Redman scenarios. There was one instructor who was the narrator/dispatch and evaluated us, and another one in a Redman suit. These weren’t necessarily all fight scenarios, but scenarios we may or may not encounter on the street. What made it even more intense, was that all the scenarios were slightly different. They were all roughly the same for us, but each one had its own set of problems that the other cadets wouldn’t face. We were given a red gun (mine was a Beretta for obvious reasons), and told to deploy our real batons. Once they had been deployed, the instructor would call a time out, switch the real for the fake foam, and the scenario would continue. I was told I was a Deputy with a local Sheriff’s Office.

The first scenario went as follows.  I was dispatched to an apartment complex because the apartment manager called and complained about screaming and what sounded like fighting from one of the apartments. Dispatch told me that we (the Sheriff’s Office) had responded to this apartment 8 times in the last 2 and a half weeks. The last officer to respond to a call there ended up in the hospital with several broken bones. The main suspect is the owner/leader of a local martial arts school, with several black belts to his name. Once the instructor finished the narrative, he knocked on the door and opened it for me. I walked in the room, and saw the suspect (in Redman gear) kicking a screaming victim. He was about 30 feet from me. I managed to yell ‘Police!’ before he came charging at me screaming ‘I’m going to kick your ass!’ I deployed my baton, and struck him twice on the common peroneal nerve. He went down like a sack of potatoes and I arrested him.

After the conclusion of the first one, the instructor and the Redman debriefed me, and said I’d done a stellar job. The applauded my decision to go directly to the baton, which was because I knew he had a superior knowledge of fighting tactics and knew that I wouldn’t be able to win going hand to hand. The Redman told me after the class was done, that when I deployed my baton and got in the fighting position, the thought that went across his mind was ‘oh shit, this is going to hurt’. Mind you, the Redman was 6′ 4″, 240lbs of solid muscle, a ju jitsu instructor, and an investigator for the AG’s office.

I’ll skip the second one for now, because I need to go into detail about it.

The last one was man wanted on felony warrant, assault with a deadly weapon against a peace officer, had been spotted in a local park. This man’s name was Bobby. I spotted him about 75 feet away, and started to approach him. When I got to about 50 feet away, I yelled ‘Sheriff”s Office! Get on the ground!’, drew my red gun Beretta, and pointed it at him (finger off the trigger of course). I closed the gap to about 35-40 feet, and continued to tell him to get on the ground. Finally, he did. I kept my red gun Beretta pointed at him until he had proned out. I kept it pointed at him, until I got ready to handcuff him, which I quickly did.

After I had him handcuffed, the instructor debriefed me again. He said I was the best one so far (out of 24 cadets, I was the 20th one to go). I drew my gun at a respectable distance, kept my distance from him, and didn’t holster it until I had him in a position to where he was the smallest threat risk. He told me the common problem he’d seen is a lot of the cadets would wait until they got within 15 feet or so to draw, and even then, some cadets wouldn’t even draw, they’d just try to talk him down. Once everyone had finished, the instructor told me I was the best one he had seen out of everyone with the wanted felon.

The second scenario was this. Several people had called dispatch and were complaining about what sounded like fighting in a ‘bar’ (which was actually a 10′ by 10′ room). I ran into the ‘bar’, and saw 2 men arguing. As I ran into the ‘bar’, one of the guys tried to run past me. I shoved him back into the ‘bar’, however, he squeezed past me and I just let him go. I was talking to the other guy, trying to calm him down, when something told me to turn around. I turned around just in time to see the other guy standing behind me pointing a blue gun Glock at me. I was talking to him, and was going to disarm him, when the other guy came up behind me and tried to grab for my Beretta. When I went to deflect his grab, the other guy yelled bang and killed me.

After I was ‘killed’, the instructor told me that this scenario was actually an ambush scenario. The fighting was a ploy to draw me in to kill me. After the class was done, the instructor told me that I was the first one had that done to them (intentional ambush). Needless to say, I learned from that experience.

What was interesting, was to hear how the other cadets had handled each of the scenarios. The scenarios did have their minor differences, but since they were largely the same, we were somewhat able to compare our experiences.

For the first one, the biggest one I had heard was one of the cadets drew his gun. I heard one of the cadets got in a physical confrontation, and lost. I heard one of the cadets was fighting pretty well…until he had gotten backed in to a corner.

For the second one, after I had gone, they started doing that more and more, if the second guy was allowed to get out. What was really telling, for one scenario, the second guy stuck a blue gun Glock in the waistband of his pants. The cadet how responded to the scenario, saw the Glock, but it didn’t click ‘gun’, and allowed the second guy to get out.

For the third one, I heard there was a lot of cussing from the cadets, the biggest one being ‘Get on the fucking ground!’. The other big thing was, as I said earlier, knowing when to draw the gun and when to put it away. There were several cadets that tried to handcuff one-handed!

But overall, other than getting ‘killed’, I did rather well. I just need to learn from my mistakes, and move on.

5 Responses to “Redman Scenarios”

  1. Good info, you relate well. What is a Redman suit? And what’s the significance/difference between red and blue guns? I assume the blue are the rubber trainers I’ve seen a shows?

  2. Greetings from Falls County,
    You have good feel for this sort of thing. I’m betting no one survived the ambush. If a team puts their mind to killing someone random, it’s almost impossible to stop them.

    Don’t worry about not keeping up with the blog, time for that later – and we willl wait.

    Question, have you given any thought to writing magazine articles about this sort of thing? I believe you would do well.

    • For those who got the ambush treatment, no one survived. It ‘killed’ 4 people, including myself. The problem was, as the instructors said, in a situation like the second scenario, you’d have back up officers to assist you, which would keep an ambush situation from happening. If they still wanted to kill police officers, it’d be more of a firefight as we show up, and not an ambush style that got me.

      Honestly, I’d never thought about it. It’d be something I would be interested in doing, but don’t know where to start.

  3. Greetings from Falls County,
    Folks convince themselves magazine articles are harder than they really are. Example, the post you made here, with lots of color photos and quotes for instructors and other students. The other thing is to explane the concept to folks who never realized there was a stragity (we all remember Art can’t spell – right?) to answering a call.

    For most of us interaction with a working law enforcement officer means sitting in the car while they come to tell you why they pulled you over. They aren’t dumb, they just don’t think about it.

    The other thing is not to talk down to your reader, which you do not. It’s hard to find a gun, or outdoors magazine that dose not have an article written by a current or retired police officer.

    Something to think about.

Leave a Reply

