DPS1 – refresher

I got my Beretta in early June.

I’ve put 903 rounds through it as of the end of DPS1 today, not including the dry fire practice I’ve done. I had the rear sight adjusted because it was off, and I had it darkened to help enhance my front sight picture. I’ve replaced the recoil spring, the main spring with the lighter ‘D’ spring, and replaced the trigger return spring.

Last weekend, at DPS2, GunGeek  told me that my DA shot was excellent, and that it was obvious I had been practicing the DA pull, however I was yanking’ the SA shots. I hadn’t quite gotten the transition down yet.

Today, at the end of DPS1, I heard GunGeek and Mr. Tom talking about something. I couldn’t hear what they were saying, but my cop instincts went off, so I decided to go over and have a listen. I walked up just in time to hear Mr. Tom say “If he had a real gun, he would be dangerous.” I thought to myself, “Is he talking about me?”, then about that time, GunGeek said, “You should’ve seen him last weekend with my XD. He was banging the bad guy on the hostage target without even letting it reset.” Then I knew they were talking about me, since I had shot GunGeek’s XD last weekend.

Curious about Mr. Tom’s comment, I texted a friend who knows him better than I do, and was told that coming from him, it was a great compliment.

In the span of about 2 and half months, 903 rounds, a lot of dry fire practice, 3 KR Training classes (DPS1, DPS2, and DPS1), and an hour private session with KR, in which we fixed my sights (which fixed my accuracy issue), I went from Mr. Tom telling me I needed a lot of work, to one of his highest praises.

Now, if you excuse, I’m going to pat myself on the back, clean my Beretta, and go to bed happy.

One Response to “DPS1 – refresher”

  1. Don’t hurt yourself patting your back.

    You really have improved your shooting and with a real gun you would be dangerous. Now you have a really good understanding of the problem with police administrators fixing crappy gun handling with a mechanical fix to make it more difficult for their officers to shoot well or at all instead of training to get their officers up to a higher level of proficiency.

    It was good to see you again and have ever confidence you will do well in the range portion of the academy. Now we just need to get you a department that will let you carry a real gun.

Leave a Reply

