1 year and counting!

On this day in 2009, I was bored after a long day at the Academy, surfin’ Al Gore’s Intertubes.

After reading a bunch of gunblogs, I decided I thought I should create one of my own.

After comparing Blogspot and WordPress, I thought I’d like WordPress more, so I set up an account with them. I created this blog you see here, but left it private until the 17th. On the 17th, I created my first post, “Howdy and Welcome!”

And now, here I am, one year later. I’ve gotten to know a lot of wonderful people, learned a metric ton of stuff I didn’t know, and made a bunch of new friends along the way.

I’d like to thank everyone for their continued support. I couldn’t do this without you. I know I get off topic, wander all over the place topic-wise, and sometimes my blogs don’t make any sense, but still, you continue to visit, comment, and put up with my non-sense. I don’t post as often as I’d like, and hopefully once I get out of the Academy and get started somewhere I’ll be able to post more.

With that said, I would like to announce that in couple months, I’m going to be changing formats slightly. I will still be blogging, but my goal is to turn this blog into an internet log of my police career. Every day I aim to post a brief synopsis of that day and include any interesting tidbits that happen, such as weird calls, traffic stops, etc. I will still blog about all things firearms and other completely random topics, however, those will be less frequent than work posts.

Why the change? Well, a lot of people don’t know what a police officer actually does. They see cop shows on the TV, but we all know it’s not realstic. I’m hoping by blogging my daily activities, it will serve to allow everyone a glimpse into what police officers actually do. Plus, when I talk to police officers who have 20+ years in, a lot of them regret not keeping some kind of log/journal/diary of what they have done over the years, to show what they have accomplished over the course of their career. By doing this, I’ll have the chance to keep a record of what I’ve done, and what I’ve experienced over the years.

I’d like to thank all of you for this past year, and for the many years to come!

-Jay

6 Responses to “1 year and counting!”

  1. Congratulations on the first year! Has it really been that long? Gosh… they grow up so fast. :-)

    Been a good read so far, and looking forward to what’s to come. There was another blog, Cowtown Cop that did something similar, but that blog eventually dwindled away. It was good reading. I suspect yours will be a good read too. :-)

  2. Be careful about posting details about what you do in a professional capacity as a police officer. Blog posts, because they are public, could be used in court by a defense attorney to weaken your testimony about cases. I would tread very carefully down that road.

    • Duly Noted. I am going to omit any IDing information for obvious reasons, and will not even use false names and false addresses.

  3. Wandering off topic?????? OOOoooooo, Shiny………………………..

    Congrats on the year. Look forward to meeting you IRL VERY soon.

  4. From 1 new blogger to another — Congrats on a year.

    Really have enjoyed reading here and look forward to the next years.

Leave a Reply

