BUG/carry matches

I had what alcoholics call a “moment of clarity” just now, while reading old ‘Calvin and Hobbes‘ comic strips. Completely random I know, but hear me out.

With shooting sports so popular these days, why don’t more ranges and alphabet shooting sport groups hold BUG/carry matches?

Like, you can only use your daily carry gun or BUG and your carry gear. I think that would be a great way to increase the skill level of CHL holders, plus it helps people get used to what they carry and how to use it in intense situations.

I’ve often thought about getting into and doing the whole alphabet shooting sports thing, but that has always been a big turn off for me. I understand and agree with the concepts behind them, shooting with a time limit creates the pressure needed to shoot quick, which simulates shooting under pressure, however, I would want to show up with my stock Glock 23 in a concealment holster, and a spare mag in its concealment holster, and be competitive that way. I don’t want to have to worry about “power factors” and shoot-me-first vests, what particular order I have to engage targets, etc.

I want something realistic, something I could actually face on the streets as a LEO or CHL holder, like the “7-11” scenarios Hsoi talks about here. I’m in the back, hear some robbers come in, and go from there. I don’t want to be told what to do. I don’t want to engage target A twice, engage target B 3 times, then re-engage target A again twice. If I’m going to shoot at someone, I’m going to shoot them until they are no longer a threat, i.e. they are on the ground. I’m not going to shoot someone twice, leave them standing to engage someone else, THEN re-engage them.

I’ve always been of the mindset, defensive shooting isn’t just how accurate you are and how much lead and holes you can fill your attacker with, you have to actually think and use your head. Should I engage the guy who has his back to me first, then go for the guy looking the other way, or do it the other way around? Should I engage all the bad guys from one position, or should I engage, move, than reacquired and engage again?

Anyway, back on topic, I think the idea of a BUG/carry match is a great idea. I mean, if people are expecting to use these pistols to defend themselves, then let’s put them to the test in a match against the clock and a bunch of paper targets in some kind of scenario, and really see how they do.

2 Responses to “BUG/carry matches”

  1. So, we really need to get you out to KRTraining. We run the “7-11” scenarios along with a bunch of other scenarios in out FoF classes. Airsoft Glock if that is what you carry in your carry rig and we give people “jobs” or “roles” to play. The “good guy” is told very simply “BE YOU” and we let things roll from there.

    As for matches, Go out and shoot your way! We have had people show up for IPSC matches with their carry gear and shoot it “tactically” against themselves. Ignore others scores and pay attention to what you are doing. Nothing wrong with that.

    DAMN I used a lot of “quotes” in there!

    Also, I know the steel challenge folks down in Bulverde used to do some interesting matches for fun like one month they had a 5-shot snubby category for the match just so we could play with those. Try shooting five pieces of steel at speed under match pressure with a 5 shot revolver and 1-1/2″ barrel! That was a hoot as well as a challenge.

    Not to be hatin’ on IDPA but they claim that they were set up to address just this issue. NOT! they’re just another game with their own set of rules. Not that they’re bad it is still shooting defensively under pressure and good practice. Just not what they claim it to be.

    • I’d love to, however, there are certain key issues stopping me at the present moment.

      Cost is the biggest one. It’s 75 miles one way, which means 6 gallons of gas round trip. Yea, it might not seem like much, but when I drive over 350 miles in 4 days alone (police academy), that all adds up. Then you have cost of the ammunition and the classes. Before I qualify for any of the scenarios or AT courses, I’d have to take DPS2 if not DPS1 first then DPS2. If I have to take both, thats another $160.

      Time is another one. Based on my previous experience in the academy, I’ll be doing a lot of studying and working out trying to get into shape. It’s 1.5 hours one way to the range, then another 1.5 hours home, meaning I’d lose that time for study, working out, etc. I obviously don’t consider the time for the class as lost time, since that is very important in it’s own right, but still, 3 hours driving.

      I know some of you will say “If there is a will, there is a way!”, but trust me, there is a very strong will, but will won’t stop time or magically add funds to my bank account.

      Now, when I graduate the police academy, get hired on somewhere, and have the time and money to do so, trust me, I will. But at the present, the best I can do is our informal session.

Leave a Reply

