question

Girls + me = “Outlook not so good”

I got an email asking about how me being a gun nut was going over with the Other Girl, and advice for talking to a new girlfriend about being a gun nut, since I haven’t talked about her in a long while. Well, we aren’t together. It was one of those things where, if you want it to happen, you’ll find time for it. We were always playing phone tag, and could never really sit down and talk past those first couple of dates. Finally, we just went our separate ways. We weren’t going any where, and well, we decided that was in our best interest. Me being a gun nut, gun blogger, etc had no effect on our relationship.

That was about a month or so ago. I’ve tried to move on, but well, I’m not so great in the “girls” department. Heck, I asked my Magic 8-ball (yes I have one and use it all the time) the math equation in the opening, Girls plus myself equals, and gave it a good shake. When I read it, it said “Outlook not so good”.

Needless to say, maybe dating isn’t in my best interest right now. I’m going to be swamped with Academy stuff soon, and really couldn’t give a girl the time she deserves. But, I don’t want to fall off my “game” so to speak.

I don’t know. This is a topic for another time, maybe in October when I’ve graduated from the Academy, passed the TCLEOSE test, and have been hired on with a department.

Then again Dad did always say your most likely to find the woman of your dreams when your not looking…

4 Responses to “question”

  1. Greetings from Falls County,
    As I may have told you before, I had the same problem. Girls found out I was into firearms and stopped returning my calls. When I met a lady named Helene I liked her and decided if I was going to scare her off I was going to do it quick. On our first date I took her to a shooting range that rented submachineguns and checked her out on an Uzi.
    She is now my wife.
    Hang in there, when the time is right it will happen.

    • I don’t think the issue was shooting and bein’ a gun nut. Heck, the next date was going to be another shooting one, at her request.

  2. Listen to Dad (generally good advice, anyway). I had just gotten out of a bad relationship, truly swore off women so I could focus on my last year of grad school. And boom…. found my wife. Yes, it happens when you’re not looking.

  3. misbeHaven (the Mrs. TXGunGeek) showed up at a defensive shotgun class then again at mutual friends wedding. Namely KR and his wife. Through them we ended up going out to Amy’s (it’s in Austin look it up) at 01:30 that would be in the AM and shot an IPSC match two weeks later and have been together ever since.

    You NEVER know when they will show up.

Leave a Reply

