Mindset and thoughts

As you have been reading and following along, I’m fixing to start the police academy, in 9 days to be exact. So, this means you probably won’t read or see me comment much until the academy starts. Why? Well, let me tell you a story about a guy named M. He was a Cadet with me during my first time at the academy in San Antonio, and it’s because of him I’m going to do what I’m fixing to, which is drop off the radar for a while.

As I said earlier, M was a Cadet with me in my class. Good natured, married with a couple of kids, he was in his late 20s. When the academy first started, he helped me learn the case-law, of which I had problems learning. All of the various codes (penal, traffic, etc) I had no problems with, it was just the drab and dreary case-law I had problems. He showed me all sorts of tricks to help me learn it, stuff like flash cards and reading it aloud. Anyway, we finished up the section on the various codes and case-law, and started to do the fun “hands-on” stuff, like how to make an arrest. It was M’s turn to stumble. He just couldn’t do it.  I don’t know why, but he just snapped and couldn’t do it. When he’d grab the wrist to force you to put your hands behind your back, if you gave him even the slightest bit of resistence, he’d drop the cuffs in his pocket, hold his hands up, and back away. He barely passed the test for that section, and we continued to hands-on stuff, like defensive tactics. Again, he just couldn’t do it. Finally, I cornered him in my apartment one night after class and got him to talk about why he couldn’t do it. He confessed and said he just wasn’t ready to do that yet. Come to find out, he didn’t give himself any time off before the academy began. The academy started on a Wednesday, and his last day at his place of business was that Monday. He didn’t have to time to relax and get himself in the proper mindset for what he was fixing to do.

He didn’t make it out of that next section. He failed his practical exam badly, and opted not to try again by retesting. He knew it was pointless for him to continue, so he dropped out. He later told me, before I had to drop out of the academy myself, that he was going to go to the academy again, but he was going to take some time off beforehand, to sit and contemplate what he was embarking on. Yea, I know your probably sitting there thinking “oh come on, enough with the mushy stuff”, but M is right.

This is a journey into a larger world, a world that most people can’t fathom, and it shouldn’t be taken lightly. Why?

As a police officer, I can take rights and freedoms from you (right to bear arms and vote are 2 of the biggest ones for us gun nuts), I can leave a black mark on your record that will haunt you for life, I may see human beings at their worst as they torture one another, I may see (more than likely will see) things that will keep me up at night and/or give me nightmares for a while, and have to live a life of constant “Condition Yellow” from the day I “get pinned” to the day I take my last breath.

Am I trying to threaten or getting an ego about being a police officer? Nope! I’m just trying to show you the larger world that I’ll be trying to enter (again), and why I need to take a break from everything for a while. As the  psychologist told me, a lot of people drop out of the academy because they aren’t mentally prepared for what they are about to do, not just in the academy, but when they set foot on the street as a LEO. It finally sinks what they might have to do in the line of duty as a LEO, and it’s too much. Others, they get their badge, and it pulls them down. They get big-headed, get massive egos, and screw everything up for everyone else.

So, needless to say, I’m going to take a week off, rest, relax, watch a lot of TV, and get in the best mindset to help me get through the Academy!

2 Responses to “Mindset and thoughts”

  1. Greetings from Falls County,
    This sounds like a solid plan. I’m looking forward to you checking back in. Can’t wait to see the new post after the academy starts.

  2. Jay,

    Take as much time as you need to get it right. As you (and others) stood by me while my blog was down, we will be here when you start posting again.

    Thoughts and prayers your way for a successful learning mindset and experience.

Leave a Reply

