Wonder

 Ever buy a used firearm (i.e. LE trade-in guns, guns from WWII, etc) and wonder about it’s history?

I had the same wonder. I was bored today, so I called Glock with the serial number of my Glock 23, and they told me what police department it was sold to.

I called said police department, and after emailing them a scanned in copy of my reciept, a helpful SGT looked up the info for me. And honestly, I wished I hadn’t.

It was used in 3 officer involved shootings, killing 4 people over those 3 incidents.

The first incident was a traffic stop. The perp pulled his gun on the officer as he approached the vehicle. The officer pulled his service pistol (my Glock), fired several rounds and killed the suspect.

The second incident was a domestic violence call. 2 officers responded to the scene, and as they got out of their separate patrol units and began to approach the house, the husband and his brother came charging out of the house with shotguns. Both officers drew and returned fire. The first officer (using the Glock I own now) shot the husband several times, killing him instantly. The brother sought shelter and continued to fire at the officers. The second officer shot the brother initially, however, it wasn’t incapacitating. The first officer also shot him, however, with more fatal results.

The last incident, a detective was doing follow up on a case and accidently went to the wrong house, which was the home of a drug dealer. The drug dealer shot the detective through the door, hitting him in the shoulder. The dealer opened the door and the detective shot and killed the dealer. The detective survived. However, his service pistol (my Glock) stayed in evidence for a year, before it was returned to the PD, where it was removed from service and placed in reserve. From there, it was sold to the dealer I bought it, which he in turn sold to me.

4 Responses to “Wonder”

  1. Yikes.

    Bought my Glock 19 at McBrides, used, with I’d estimate less than 100 rounds thru it. My guess is a nightstand gun, but I’d just as soon not find out it’s history on the off chance that it was a LEO trade-in.

  2. Jay,

    I’m not sure I see the problem here.

    If you had bought a used M1 Garand or similar battle rifle, would you be proud that it had served honorably?

    None of the officer involved shootings seem to be dirty, they all appear to be in defense of the officers lives.

    A proven gun is gold, and that Glock has proven that it and the person using it can get the job done.

    • Bob,

      Dad and I talked about it last night, and he made the same point. Do I still feel a little bad it had to take a life 4 times? Sure, but as both you and he said, it’s combat proven. It stood the test 3 separate times and came out on top all 3 times.

    • Oh, and congrats to Bob for the 300th comment! :D

Leave a Reply

