Letter

I got the official word from CAPCOG that I’ve been accepted!

Meaning, I get to start the buying frenzy.

This is all what I’ll have to buy during my time in the Academy:

  • 3 pairs of 5.11 Tactical Pants in black
  • Black Garrison belt with a silver buckle
  • Police Tactical boots in black, with polished toe
  • Duty belt
  • Duty belt keepers (set of 4)
  • Handcuffs case
  • Collapsible Baton Holder
  • Double magazine holder
  • Handcuffs
  • Handgun holster, minimum level 2 retention
  • Expandable ASP Baton
  • Handgun, full size, 4″ barrel or greater, double action only, 9mm, .40 S&W, .357 Sig, or .45 auto
  • 1000 rounds ammuition, either FMJ or JHP
  • 5 rounds buckshot (either Double or Triple Ought)
  • Mouthpiece
  • Running shoes
  • Misc. office supplies
  • Vehicle Lease for Emergency Vehicle Driving Training

Thankfully, I don’t have to have it all before the start of the Academy. The only things I’m required to have on Day One are the 5.11 Tactical Pants, Garrison belt, and Police Tactical boots. The Handgun holster, Handgun, and ammunition I technically won’t need until the end of June, however, being the gunny that I am, I’m already stalking and trying to find the perfect pistol for me. Ideally, I’d like to get it in the next month or two, since that will allow me time to put some rounds through whatever I buy to get used to it, and if it’s brand new, it’ll give me time to break it in and get any kinks out before I have to start training with it.

Yes, I realize this means I’ll be training for the training for the police academy. :D

Who knows, maybe I can find the spare cash and attend a KR Training class before the pistol training phase begins at the academy…

6 Responses to “Letter”

  1. Or maybe we just need to find a mutual available time and get you tuned up with your new gun. The coming month is light on classes because of other commitments but there are days and times available for a range trip that we cannot fit a class into.

    • Thanks! That would work out loads better than attending a class since I would only need a little tuning from a trained instructor. I plan on still making it out there for a class one day though.

  2. Congratulations on the official acceptance!

  3. Greetings from Falls County,
    Great news Jay. Glad your career is moving forward.
    I saw running shoes, and I’m guessing other PT gear listed. Just remember, when you comeing dragging in exhusted and hurting at the end of the day – tomorrow will be worst!
    Best wishes and keep us posted on your progress.

    • There is some stuff I have already paid for. Those would be the uniform shirts and the PT gear (shirts/shorts). I had to buy those through the Academy (CAPCOG), so I didn’t list them.

      I’m planning to blog about it each day at a time, Day 1, Day 2, etc when I get home from the Academy. It’ll be a good record for not only personal reference, but it’ll give yall an excellent insight as to what is covered in the academy and how it generally works day to day. Plus, if someone is looking at going to an academy here in Texas, it’ll give them a rough idea of what to expect.

Leave a Reply

