Investing

I’ve been tweaking with this article since I originally wrote it last November. It has gone through multiple re-writes, edits, and changes. Instead of butchering this poor article anymore, I’m going to just post it, since each time I edit it I get further from the base meaning. So, please excuse any errors or confusing points.

Today, I bring you an article on investing for the future. No, I’m not talking about stock markets, 401ks, Roth IRAs, or any of that non-sense. The stock market is sinking, and is just a money pit in my opinion. Instead, I’m getting back to the base meaning of the word.

Merriam-Webster’s defines “invest” as:

1: to commit (money) in order to earn a financial return
2 : to make use of for future benefits or advantages <invested her time wisely>

You often hear used in sentences like “…buying that car was a good investment” or “Do we want to invest the last of our savings in a new fridge?”.

Now that we are back to the basics of investing, lets look at ways you can invest money outside of the stock market.

Again, buying smart is one way to invest. You purchase something that will be reliable and bring you many good years of service. Another way of investing is the old investing adage of “buy low, sell high”. You purchase something at an unbelievably low price, then sell it for more than what you paid for it, bringing in a profit.

I am an investor of sorts. Do I play the stock market? Nope. What I do is keep an eye out for great deals. For example, I bought an Xbox 360 with several games and controllers from a friend for $65. I put an ad out on Facebook, Craigslist, and a local forum, describing what I was selling. After a week of waiting, I sold it for $120, netting $55 in profit. Craigslist has a “free” section, where people are willing to just give the item away for free, all you have to do is pick it up. One of my cousins got a month old perfect condition Blackberry for FREE. A secretary didn’t want it, her company didn’t want it back, so she just gave it away.

Sometimes you have to wait a while to get a return on your initial investment. I snagged a nice flat screen LCD monitor one of my old roommates was going to throw away. I haven’t sold it yet (even 3 months later, today, I still have it), but because I got it for free, anything I get is pure profit.

Anyway, believe it or not, you can invest in firearms and firearms accessories, like ammunition, magazines, etc. I’m not just talking about the above “buy low, sell high”, but as an investment against whatever the future may hold. What ever you may call it, when order breaks, the SHTF, or it all falls down, we all mean the same thing. When police aren’t there anymore, when lawlessness sets in, firearms are going to be very damn popular, and even the antis will begrudgingly admit that. They won’t stand up and say it, or even admit it on a blog or a forum, but they will admit it to themselves. When protection isn’t available, we must protect ourselves. Those without firearms will either perish quickly or realize the value of a firearm and do whatever is necessary to acquire one.

Think about it this way. A farmer has a rooster and 3 hens he wants to trade. Chickens are a great source of food. They lay eggs, which eggs are food themselves, but eggs (when fertilized) can also hatch and grow more chickens. So you’ve got a nice little industry going. The eggs you don’t eat you can trade, and if you have a bunch of extra chickens, you could easily trade them as well. However, what do you think that farmer is going to be interested in? A gold bar? A diamond ring? Gold is meaningless to a farmer, since it can’t do anything useful, other than maybe as a paperweight. Same goes for a diamond ring. This is where firearms come in. A firearm is useful in more ways than one. Not only is it great for defense against pillagers and thieves, firearms can be useful for hunting as well. I’m not a 100% sure, but I’m willing to bet that farmer would trade his chickens for something like an SKS, Mosin Nagant, or a K98 and some ammo for said rifle, or a good shotgun and some shells.

Am I saying you need to blow your life savings on crates of Mosin Nagants or K31s and pallet loads of ammunition? Nope. What I am saying, is be mindful of what the future may hold. In 3 years time, you might be wishing you had that $79.95 Mosin Nagant  you scoffed at in Shotgun News, or went ahead and picked up that extra box of rounds at the store. But if economic conditions and things in general improve, take your investment/purchase and sell it at a gun show, gun range, or what have you. Sure, you might lose a couple bucks, but if it had taken a turn for the worse, you’d be a step ahead.

If your not into investing, or if I’ve just royally confused you, think about it this way. This may seem like a tangent, but just bear with me. When I first met the ex-Girl, I had considered getting a CHL. She had problems with it, until I explained to her how to think about it. I’m not a gun nut who has to have a gun every where I go, which really isn’t all that true for me. I called it “insurance against the unknown”. People spends all kind of money on insurance, be it car, life, health, dental, vision, homeowners, and that’s what me getting a CHL would be, my insurance against someone trying to kill me or deprive me of my righteous belongings. Having a spare rifle, shotgun, or pistol would much be the same way. It’s insurance against what the future may bring.

Simply put, a firearm and ammo in hand will be worth a lot more than money if it all collapses.

Leave a Reply

