Duty Weapons

I was hoping to have to wait a long, long time before I make this post, but unfortunately, it can’t wait.

I got accepted into a police academy in Austin, and it starts in May.

The problem is, I have to provide my own duty weapon.

Qualifications are these:

  • Must have a 4″ barrel or longer
  • Full Size (no compacts!)
  • Must be from a quality manufacturer (Beretta, Sig Sauer, H&K, Glock, Springfield, S&W etc.)
  • Must be in excellent working condition
  • Must be in either 9mm, .40 S&W, or .45 ACP
  • No revolvers
  • DOUBLE ACTION ONLY

I’ll have around ~$600 to spend.

Cheaper is obviously better, and I won’t be required to carry it when I do get to a police department.

Any ideas?

ETA: I had to add another condition. Stupid DAO…

3 Responses to “Duty Weapons”

  1. I am still agonizing over DAO.

  2. Go with a Glock 22, for the value vs price, for the similarity to your own weapon, for the .40 caliber, and because Glocks are sorta invisible now in police holsters. What I mean is, the Glock is a good tool on your belt, but a slick Kimber 45 with a laser sight will be noticed.

    On second hand, a slick Kimber 45 with a laser sight would be awesome.

    • Thats the killer thing, I don’t want another Glock. I’ve got a Glock 23, and thats enough Glock for me.

      Does Kimber make a .45 in double action only?

Leave a Reply

