Bye bye fitness…

Yes, I’m temporarily stopping my fitness routine. Why?

Well, I thought I was good to go for the next Academy, however, as it turns out, I have to PT again. My scheduled date for PT……January 27th at 10:00 a.m.

Part of the requirements are easy for me, being the sit ups and push ups. Where I falter, is the running, which is a timed 1.5 mile run. I’m by no means a runner. I’m not built to be a runner. I’ve got great agility and was one of the fastest over 100 yards while I was in the academy, but I can’t do distances. The first time I did it when I joined the Academy in May on last year, I barely squeeked by on the timed run, being 2 seconds under the required time. However, that was also back when I was quite a bit more active. Now, I’m not quite as active and only just started working out again.

So now, it’s time to put the nose to the grind stone and do the best I can training wise over the next 2 weeks and see what I can come up with. I’m off for an initial test run to see what my 1.5 mile time is.

ETA: Due to recent developments, this post is irrelevant.

4 Responses to “Bye bye fitness…”

  1. Jay,

    Keep at it, your dedication and focus will pay off.

    Any ideas on a training plan to meet the test requirements?

  2. Training plan for me to meet the test requirements between now and then, or just in general?

    The initial test requirements are –

    12 push ups in a minute
    22 sit ups in a minute
    1.5 miles in 16 minutes and 31 seconds

  3. Mostly meant the running portion.

    From my own limited attempts to improve my running; I know that split style training often provides better results; e.g. combination of sprints and distance runs

  4. This is what I’m going to do, and it’s worked wonders for me in the past.

    At the local high school track, I have easy access from the track to the bleacher section.

    My exercise lap look like this: Start at the start/finish line, fast walk the curve, jog the straight, walk the curve, then run a bleacher. The bleachers here are divided into 4 sections, and the entire bleachers runs the length of the straight section. So, once I get on the straight, I jog to the bleachers, do a bleacher up and down all 4 sections of bleachers, and then jog across the start/finish line, rinse and repeat. I normally do 6-8 laps of that, which each lap is 1/4 mile long, so about 2-3 miles.

    The verticle strain of going up the bleachers really adds a lot for the cardio exercise. It’s a really quick, down and dirty way to get fit cardio wise quick. However, you have to do it every single day, drinks tons and tons of water, and rest every second you can.

Leave a Reply

