Being Fit

I was watching COPS earlier tonight and saw a foot chase that happened in Spokane, Washington. However, the officer they were following was rather…..large. Simply put, he was obese. The items on his duty belt (tazer, spare pistol mags, duty weapon, etc) literatly pushed in his fat and made indentions in it. His belly was big enough that it hung over his duty belt. I honestly don’t see how he put it on and took it off.

So the suspect takes off, and this rather large officer goes off running after him. The officer makes it 2/3rds of one city block and has to stop, and man, he sounded like he was going to die. He had to lay on the ground, take his duty belt off, undo his regular belt, and even then, they still had to call an ambulance to give him oxygen. He couldn’t even walk the half a block to the ambulance. They had to back it up to him.

And that got me thinking. One of the most basic human reactions is fight or flight. For fight, many people, especially in the world of firearms, have CHLs and carry everywhere they legally can. Then that begs the question, what are you doing for flight?

5 Responses to “Being Fit”

  1. To be marginally flippant, drinking cold beers and thinking happy thoughts. Realistically; bike, treadmill and portion control… fat and stupid is not a wise career choice. Unfortunately, I can only work on one thing at a time.

  2. Jay,

    Great question and one that needs to be answered from a different perspective from the one you have as a “youth”.

    No offense but there is usually more then meets the eye. I think the cop should be in better shape because it is required for his job.

    I, on the other hand, as a civilian am addressing flight simply by trying to get my asthma under control. Exercise program? Sounds great but when you can’t get up to a good speed without hacking up a lung; it’s sort of hard to have a great cardio program.

    One of the reasons why I started carrying was I couldn’t depend on flight to keep me safe any more.

  3. Your preaching to the choir on asthma. I had it as a kid growing up. I couldn’t play tag, peewee football, baseball, etc. My childhood was spent reading and watching T.V.

    Fortunately for me, I outgrew it when I hit puberty.

  4. Besides the basic health benefits, I think everyone who has decided to take their safety in their own hands should add a fitness routine to their training. (Everyone in general should really.)

    This is something I realized about myself last year. I carried everywhere and took some pretty good training classes, and practiced when I could, but I was out of shape.

    I am now in much better condition, and have lost 25 lbs in the process.

    I don’t think it even needs to be “hardcore” fitness either. Some moderate weight training and jogging 20-30 minutes 3 times a week would put you ahead of most people and isn’t that much of a burden.

  5. To further foo.c’s thought, it doesn’t even have to be anything to that level.

    I think about how my level of fitness was when I was younger just due to the nature of life. For instance, when I was in undergrad I walked everywhere and it so happened my dorm was on the other side of campus from where most of my classes were. All that walking was a boon. I went to grad school and while I didn’t have to walk as much, I still walked, including walking up the stairs to the offices instead of taking the elevator a few floors.

    Then I got an office job and everything went to crap. :-)

    But to just walk a little bit more, to just do a little bit more in your daily life makes a big difference. Our bodies strive to be efficient, only maintaining the minimum it needs to survive. So use it or lose it.

    Instead of driving around the parking lot looking for a space near the building, park away from the building and walk. Instead of bending over to pick something up, squat.

    Just little changes like this can be the start of a big difference.

Leave a Reply

