Mag and Holster review

As I reported here, a new Academy opened up in San Marcos.

I did go on the day it opened, which that article is coming soon, but I wasn’t able to purchase anything the day of, due to their credit systems not working.

However, I went back a couple days ago and was able to make a few purchases, which I will be reviewing here.

First off, I bought a factory hi-cap Glock 23 magazine. Which, for those who don’t know about Glocks (i.e. me), that translates to a 13 round magazine for the compact .40 cal Glock.

It came in a nice neat box:

Nothing overly fancy, just a magazine in a plastic box with a cardboard Glock backing. I paid $29.95 plus tax, which is about the going rate online. The last gunshow I was at in San Antonio, they had BNIB Glock 23 mags for $24.95, or $14.95 for used ones. So, with the purchase of this mag, I now have 4 Glock mags.

Overall, I rate it a 5 out of 5, because well, as long as it feeds and functions, it’s just a mag.

Next, I bought one of these:

 

That being a Safariland Model 568 Custom Fit Holster. I had a decision between that or a Blackhawk Sportster SEPRA holster.

I went with the Safariland over the Blackhawk for several reasons. First, I wanted something that I could eventually use for concealed carry. The Blackhawk was designed for sport use (i.e. at the range), whereas the Safariland was design for LEOs to use for off-duty carry. Second, the Blackhawk only came with one attachment, which was for a belt. The Safariland came with 2 attachments, one for pancake and one for belt, so I could easily switch from one to the other for whatever I needed it for. Lastly, I had read several negative reviews about the Blackhawk, mainly of being cheap plastic, and people having issues with it binding when they draw.

I came home with it and quickly tore open the packaging. The holster had the manual and several other sheets of paper stuffed in it which I quickly set aside. I grabbed my unloaded Glock, and lo and behold, couldn’t get it to fit. It was waayyy too tight. So I read through the instruction manual, and figured out how to fit it.

To get that custom fit, you loosen all the allen screws with the included allen wrench. Then, you put your unloaded pistol in the holster. The first one you tighten down is on the side for the retention do-hickey, then the two pictured on the front. You tighten them until your pistol doesn’t have any play in it when you move either the holster or the pistol, but can still be drawn easily. This is where I ran into trouble. There are 2 metal washers under the front two allen screws. For my Glock, the allen screws have to be fairly loose, which means there isn’t any tension on the metal washers. So when I move just right, they jingle against the allen screw. Needless to say, very annoying. I solved this problem with two small pieces of electrical tape.

Again, as I mentioned earlier, it comes with an adapter plate for belt use. Out of the package, it was set up for pancake use. Now this is the weird part. The massive sheet that is the quick start guide (which covers 8 different models of holsters), says to convert it to belt use, read the manual. Well, I didn’t get a manual. I looked on the Safariland website but couldn’t find one. I mean, I figured out how to convert it on my own, but there is an adapter plate with 3 screws that was included, and I can’t figure out how it fits into the puzzle. I’m going to email them in the morning and see what they say.

After leaving the Glock in the holster for a couple days, allowing the holster to mold to it, I must say, this is a wonderful holster. The retention is great enough that I did a few PT drills (hopping over 2 fences, a 4′ cyclone followed by a 6′ privacy fence, then low crawling for 100 yards, and lastly running up and down a flight of stairs), and it never come out of the holster, or even felt like it was going to come out. And to top it off, it is still a breeze to draw from.

As a conceal carry holster, it honestly works really well. The only problem, this being Texas and all, it can be hard to hide a Glock 23 and a holster with just a t-shirt and a pair of shorts. But, this holster does it very well. There is a slight issue of printing with the bottom of the grip frame, but with the proper t-shirt, it’s easily taken care of.

Overall, I rate it a 4.5 out of 5. The loose metal washers and lack of manual are the only 2 tiny grips I have. Unless the department mandates what I can and can’t carry and/or use as a holster, I will be using this as my conceal carry holster.

I’ll have pictures of it up tomorrow.

One Response to “Mag and Holster review”

Leave a Reply

