Joyous Occasion!

Joyous looks like it is spelled wrong, but WP says it isn’t…..oh well.

In other news, I got the 1908 VP back today! How you might ask?

Well, it turns out that my grandfather listed it on a homeowner’s insurance form back in the early 90s, complete with pictures, one of which included the serial number. This proves that he has ownership of the 1908 VP, since neither The Girl nor myself can provide conflicting legal documentation.

He then filled out an affidavit transferring ownership of said 1908 VP to me, meaning it is mine free and clear, complete with legal documentation. After forwarding said information to the local PD, it is now back in my hands.

After looking at it, I disassembled it. Apparently, in the time she had it, she shot the 6 rounds of ammo I had in it and never cleaned it. Thankfully, there is no damage done to it.

4 Responses to “Joyous Occasion!”

  1. Jay,

    Great news indeed. Glad you have the heirloom back.

    Might I suggest a trick that I’ve been doing? I thought of this after learning that cops in New Orleans were illegally confiscating firearms, making the people provide proof of ownership to get them back.

    So, what I’ve been doing is scanning the receipt or document then emailing it to my self using a web based email service like Google or Yahoo.

    The archived file stays (I check occasionally) and if I need to access it anywhere in the country it is available.

  2. Hey Bob,

    I do something similar already with a server. I can go so far as I can access the server on my cell phone and pull up and email the necessary documents to whoever.

    The problem with the 1908 VP was I had received it as a gift, and had no receipts or documents to prove ownership, which thankfully has been corrected.

  3. Happy Ending Phase I complete. ;)

    Congrats on the return of the firearm Jay.

Leave a Reply

