Freedom!

I’m back at teh apartment. All went well. They aren’t anti-gun, but they aren’t pro-gun either. They don’t see the need for them to own a gun, but they aren’t going to stop other people from exercising their RKBA. Because of that, I was told they don’t allow firearms in their house or on their property. So, I had to move my car, since it was parked in their driveway. I parked on the curb, which is city property, and is where I could legally carry. However, I ended up getting a parking ticket, for parking too close to an intersection. Fine? $35.

As Bob S. has asked here (“Why do you carry…”) and here (“Why do you carry…Part 2”), as a non-CHL permit holder, I carried because I was going into the unknown. This is the first time I’ve been to Abilene, this is the first time I’ve ever driven that way, so I had no idea what I was going to run into. Google Maps doesn’t exactly have an “avoid the Ghetto” or “avoid high crime areas” option, so I had no idea what part of the towns I drove we were going to be in. For all I knew, I was going to be driving through areas like the Fifth Ward in Houston. So, as I have car insurance, health insurance, and renters insurance, my USP was my insurance against the unknown.

Anywho, because the Girl said I was a good boy, we went to Cabela’s in Buda. I’ve heard a lot about it, but have never gone personally. All I can say, is wow.  More on this later, as it deserves a post of its own.

So, I’m going to spend the rest of the night catching up on my blog readings and decompressing from the trip.

3 Responses to “Freedom!”

  1. Thanks for the link.

    Glad all went well with The Girl’s parents. Been in that boat more then a couple of times.

  2. I, too, am glad all went well and that the travels ended safely.

  3. Yea, I was worried on the drive up, but I’m glad it ended well.

Leave a Reply

