Good news!

I saw the foot doctor again last Friday, and was told I’m coming along quite nicely. He said if I keep following what I’ve been doing, I should be back to normal in 4-5 weeks.

Unfortunately, I had to drop out of the police academy. I can’t do PT and some of the other stuff, so I had to withdraw. If I kept going I would fail out and have to reapply, which that obviously doesn’t look good employment wise, since that would pop up on my record. However, there is a silver lining. I talk to the director of the academy, and he said that he would get my stuff transferred over to the next full-time academy, which starts in a couple months. I won’t have to pay a dime, as all my old stuff (uniforms, tuition, etc.) will transfer over to the next one. This will give me time to allow my ankle to fully heal, so I won’t have to rush the healing process, and potentially injury myself again. But, I will have nothing to do but sit on my butt.

8 Responses to “Good news!”

  1. If you sit on your butt the entire time, you might get it kicked.

    Lots of upper body exercises you can do, right?

    Lot’s of studying of material you know will be presented, right?

    Review the syllabus and determine what might give you problems, get a jump on it.

    Heck, even time to practice shooting.

    Glad you’re healing up well, don’t rush it – it is not worth is.

    all this is probably in your plan, but wanted to say it just in case.

  2. Bummer that you had to drop out, but it looks like it’s all working out. That’s really cool of the director to do that, and you can let things heal.

    Do what you can to keep healing, and use the time to otherwise try to brush up on skills. You’ve got a sneak peak at what’s involved, so use the time to prepare and get even better.

    Good luck.

  3. I’ve been doing pull ups, girly push ups, sit ups, and stuff like that to help maintain while I can’t jog or even do long distance walking.

    Yea, reviewing and studying the Texas Penal Code and Updates and the juvenile justice stuff. We had a test coming up for the penal code and I thought it was going to kick my butt.

    Unfortunately, I don’t have a place to shoot anymore. Since I’m not an active cadet, the academy range is off limits to me.

    My one saving grace is that I heal through injuries rather quickly. So, now, I wait patiently and do my penal code flash cards with the Girl.

  4. Sounds like you’ve got things well in hand.

    Shame there’s no range nearby. I guess just do as much dry fire as much as possible.

  5. Now I’m questioning how long it will be before I wear out a snap cap….. lol

  6. How many licks does it take to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop? The world may actually get to find out! ;-)

  7. Jay,

    What part of Texas are you in?

Leave a Reply

