My ankle has a name, and it is pain

Unfortunately, the title isn’t a joke. :(

We were going through some hands on self defense stuff in the academy today, and I twisted my ankle really badly. It swelled up to the point that I had to take my boots off. I went to the ER, and they said I “severely sprained it”. They gave me some meds to help with the swelling, but the only thing I could do is keep it supported and wait it out.

3 Responses to “My ankle has a name, and it is pain”

  1. From painful, very painful personal experience — do not try to rush the healing. Trust the docs when they tell you how long to stay off it.

    Some young fool I know ( I shall remain nameless ) “severely sprained” his playing volleyball and tried to play 2 months before the doc approved.

    Now that older person has problems with his ankle.

    R.I.C.E. is your friend in case you didn’t know – Rest, Ice, Compression and Elevation.

    Prayers for a full recovery.

  2. The podiatrist gave me the same acronym. He said I needed to stick it to get it to heal faster.

    The only issue is with the academy. If I can’t move around and do what is necessary I am going to fail.

  3. I’ll second what Bob S. says. Your ankles are nothing to mess with. You must let them heal else you’ll really regret it down the road.

    Granted you have to deal with academy stuff, and you have to find a way to balance the two. Keep the anti-inflammatories handy (e.g. Advil, Aleve), find a VERY good ankle brace (not the corner drugstore stuff, tho that’s better than nothing… see if that podiatrist can get you something), every night do the RICE routine (maybe more often if say you had a very active morning, during lunch break maybe RICE things), and just don’t push yourself such that you risk reinjuring it or making it worse for yourself down the line.

    Hope it heals well.

Leave a Reply

