Shocking….

Went to a local Wally World I’ve never been to before to pick up some powdered Gatorade and a new coffee maker, and cruised by Sporting Goods.

I took a peek at the ammo counter, and holy crap, the shelves were fully stocked! They even had stuff I’ve been looking for and was fixing to buy off the net.

Here is the count that they had for Winchester pistol ammo:

Winchester Whitebox

  • 15 boxes FMJ .45 Auto
  • 10 boxes JHP .45 Auto
  • 10 boxes FMJ .40 S&W
  • 3 boxes JHP .40 S&W
  • 12 boxes FMJ .38 Spc +P
  • 8 boxes JHP .357 mag
  • 3 boxes FMJ 9x18mm Makarov
  • 1 box FMJ 7.62×25 Tokarev
  • 7 boxes FMJ 9mm Luger (9mm Parabellum, 9mm NATO, etc.)
  • 6 boxes FMJ .25 Auto
  • 13 boxes FMJ .380 Auto

Winchester SuperX SilverTip

  • 2 boxes JHP .45 Auto
  • 1 box JHP .40 S&W
  • 1 box JHP .357 mag

Unfortunately, I didn’t have the cash to buy everything I wanted, so I just picked up a box of FMJ .40, since I was tired of being Barney Fife (I was at the range, forgot I was out of .40 cal ammo, and didn’t realize that fact until I had one bullet left, so Dad nicknamed me Barney Fife).

What I really wanted was a box of .25 Auto for my 1908 Vest Pocket Pistol, since all the guys at the academy (cadets and instructors alike) seem to love it. But, being the world we live in nowadays, .40 cal it is.

And sorry hsoi, it’s not in your area.

5 Responses to “Shocking….”

  1. Mind if I ask you how much the .45ACP and the .38 spl was?

    I’m looking to replenish stocks and could use a little more?

    I’m in the north Texas area myself. Added you to the blog roll.

    Been enjoying your work for a couple of days now.

  2. Took a chance since you said Wally World had ammo. Stopped by my local store and scored 2 boxes of Federal 230 grain .45 at $14.97 each for a box of 50.

    Now, I need to really start picking up .38 spl. Down to 100 rounds of it.

    • I’m glad my tip paid off for you.

      Though I am guessing it may be something of a one-off, at least in my area, because all the other Wally Worlds were bare.

Leave a Reply

