Tactical?

I went out plinkin’ with some buddies of mine today. Since we were just shootin’ .22s, I brought out my favorite plinkin’ rifle, my Ruger 10/22. As always, if it was pointed in the general vicinity of the target, it hit it.

Any who, while we were out there, one of them brought out a year old Sportsman’s Guide, and showed me some of the multitude of 10/22 accessories on the market. Car stocks, match grade trigger groups, extended mag releases, stock kits with rails, and the list goes on. One thing he said though stuck with me, and I’ve been mulling it over ever since this morning:

“You need to make it more tactical.”

I’m looking into the process of building my own AR-15, finding what parts I need, so forth and so on. Well, when I got home to check some of the parts I was going to buy (more on this soon), it hit me again, “…make it more tactical.” I saw all sorts of kits, rails, scopes, sights, holo sights, adjustable stocks, the works for the AR platform.

Webster’s defines tactical as:

“of or relating to combat tactics: as a (1) : of or occurring at the battlefront (2) : using or being weapons or forces employed at the battlefront 
2 a : of or relating to tactics: as (1) : of or relating to small-scale actions serving a larger purpose (2) : made or carried out with only a limited or immediate end in view b : adroit in planning or maneuvering to accomplish a purpose”

Since we see a lot of the word tactics, I looked it up here. Webster’s defines tactics as:

1 a : the science and art of disposing and maneuvering forces in combat b : the art or skill of employing available means to accomplish an end”

So, my question to you, is what makes something ‘tactical’?

Is it an adjustable stock? Is it rails to mount a sight on? or is just a black polymer stock good enough for ‘tactical’?

I’ve been mulling it over since I’ve heard it, and I can’t come up with anything good. So please, feel free to help me out here.

8 Responses to “Tactical?”

  1. […] // Blog Title Home About Me Contact RSS Login << Women of the IDF and Sex | Home Good question What is 'tactical'? […]

  2. Tactical is as tactical does. Can you hit with it? Good, don’t futz with it.

    Unless how your rifle LOOKS is more important to you than what it does.

    Utility additions (scopes, electronic sights, lasers, lights, stocks) that you don’t need or won’t use are more than useless. Ammo and practice produce better shooting, not bells and whistles.

    Tactical, to actually answer your question, is usually flat black. Sometimes desert tan or digital camo. It is never pink, or wood-grained, or laminated.

  3. Tactical or tacticool?

    Both have their place, for sure…

  4. Ask the marketing department.

    Take the Springfield XD. The 4″ model is Service and the 5″ is Tactical — all things are the same, save the barrel length. I have no idea how 1″ makes something tactical.

    So again, ask the marketing department.

  5. My students will ask me what “tactical” means, and I always tell them the same thing.

    “The word just means that something about the item was designed to make it easier to use in a fight.”

    At least, that is the original use of the word. As Hsoi says above, it has since been hijacked as a marketing tool to sell something for more money through appealing to the cool factor. “Tactical” is macho and dangerous, while everything else is pedestrian and ordinary.

    http://hellinahandbasket.net/?p=176

Leave a Reply

